Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web


The Melbourne Marathon Spartans

Club Patron
  • Robert de Castella

38 Year Spartans

  • Roger Weinstein, Neville Gardner, David Foskey, Frank Biviano, Manny Karageorgiou, Wayne Thompson, Bruce Hargreaves, John Dobson.

The Melbourne Marathon Spartans Club was formed in 1987 following initial discussions between Race Director Ted Paulin and Brian Dixon (former M.L.A. and Melbourne Football Club footballer). It was decided in 1987 to officially recognize the efforts of those 88 hardy souls who had completed all ten Melbourne Marathons hence the concept of the Spartan evolved.

Not in the wildest dreams of either Ted or Brian did they think the Spartan concept would be as strong as it currently is in 2016. The title of Spartan has now become one of the Australian running community's most sought after titles.

Spartans are recognized today by their distinctive green, blue, red, gold, black and maroon running singlets and each runner having their own personalized race number. The singlet is worn with the utmost pride by all Spartans as a sign of their achievement and dedication to marathon running.

There are currently 1228 male, 97 female and 2 wheelchair Spartans. Although mainly Victorians, they come from all over Australia with a few overseas members.

For further information on the Spartans club, please visit

For details on joining the Spartans Club please click here
Need any further information? Click here for the frequently asked questions
To contact the Spartans Club, please click here
To read about our Spartan Legends, please click here